Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Possible Winter Storm December 27th

stubbys

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Extremes, to a point .....

Hi and please delete if inaccurate or not appropriate, I'm very new to this.

Looks like quite a nasty low for Scotland and the north over Christmas eve and Christmas day, I appreciate it's a long way out, but might cause some disruption.

And some brief widespread cold a few days later?

post-20957-0-23490800-1418894404_thumb.p

post-20957-0-48418100-1418894483_thumb.p

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: As long as it's not North Sea muck, I'll cope.

Looks like quite a nasty low for Scotland and the north over Christmas eve and Christmas day, I appreciate it's a long way out, but might cause some disruption.

I'd be more concerned about the depth and track of the low with regards to spring tides tbh. The high spring tides (rather than low springs, two weeks later) follow the New Moon currently and peak on Christmas Eve. Mind you, the spring tides centred on 23rd January and 21st/22nd February are even higher...

We also have the highest naturally occurring tide in 25 years on 30th September next year, but hopefully the chances of coinciding with a major storm are much reduced at that time.

Posted

Am I right in thinking the sea bulges or lifts under a low pressure system as it doesn't have as much weight/density above it in the air?

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Snowy winters, hot, sunny springs and summers.

The low has been removed on today's 12z

post-8895-0-33524600-1418920350_thumb.pn

• Like 1

Posted

Am I right in thinking the sea bulges or lifts under a low pressure system as it doesn't have as much weight/density above it in the air?

Yes it does, as per this Met Office link. :)

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/learning/learn-about-the-weather/weather-phenomena/storm-surge

As Backtrack has pointed out though, there doesn't seem to be an issue currently for next week.

Edited by Steve C
  • Like 1

Posted