Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Real-time wind gust speed question for newbie

Posted
Hi, sorry if this seems like a daft question, but i'm a total beginner !

I recently bought Maplin's budget weather station, all installed and working :

I'm most interested in wind gust speed and as this unit updates on it's indoor monitor every 48 seconds, does that mean that if, as a pure example, if a gust of 40 mph was at 30 seconds into the cycle & then a gust of 20mph was at 48 seconds would it just show the 20mph gust at the next time of update on the monitor ? or would it show the max gust of 40mph over this period ? - Or ... does it take some sort of average over the 48 second period ?

If it does take an average then if anyone can suggest a fairly cost effective wireless station for a beginner that updates in real-time, or every couple of seconds - I don't want to miss a big gust !. Computer connectivity would also be good on my next model too.

Any hints / tips more than welcome

Dave

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Cold Sancerre.

As far as I know (with the ones I have owned anyway) you will miss the gust - the data is a snapshot at the time of transmission, not from the gap in-between. My old one at 7 seconds misses loads of gusts that my new one (2.5) reports - still running them both at the mo, and the anometers are both on the same pole.

Posted
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Altitude: 189 m, Density Altitude: 6 m
  • Weather Preferences: Tropical Cyclone, Blizzard, Thunderstorm, Freezing Cold Day and Heat Wave.